Cursive

January 23, 2005

I agree with Rand Simberg completely on this topic. I’ve never had any use for cursive writing. In fact, I remember thinking of it as a lot of wasted time in school (and my later life has shown I wasn’t wrong). My elementary teachers insisted that we learn it, but middle school teachers didn’t allow us to use it because it was generally less legible than printing. I have run into a few people (mostly female, but that’s based on a convenience sample) who insist they use it all the time, but considering the time it takes to learn, I don’t think the benefits justify the cost.

Leave a Reply

