Veronica Mars: Season Two Premiere

September 28, 2005

Veronicamars_desktop_1

Tonight at 9:00 ET (8:00 Central) is the second season premiere of last year’s best new show, Veronica Mars. I’ve talked about how much I like the show before, but if you need more encouragement, how about some thoughts from Joss Whedon, the creator of Buffy, Angel, Firefly and Serenity (who, I’ve now heard, will be appearing in an episode of Veronica Mars later this season):

My peeps and I just finished a crazed Veronica Marsathon, and I can no
longer restrain myself. Best. Show. Ever. Seriously, I’ve never gotten
more wrapped up in a show I wasn’t making, and maybe even more than
those. Crazy crisp dialogue. Incredibly tight plotting. Big emotion, I
mean BIG, and charsimatic actors and I was just DYING from the mystery
and the relationships and PAIN, this show knows from pain and no, I
don’t care, laugh all you want, I had to share this. These guys know
what they’re doing on a level that intimidates me. It’s the Harry
Potter of shows. There. I said it. People should do whatever they can
to check out this first season so the second won’t be a spoiler fest.
I’m nutty.

The first season DVD isn’t being released until October 11, so I suggest you Tivo/record tonight’s episode (and next week’s) and catch up on the first season before you start the second. If you don’t have that much patience, you can see a season one recap on the official site, but in my opinion the first season was just too good to spoil by watching a summary. I’m waiting with great anticipation to see if Rob Thomas and the rest of the writers, cast, and crew of the show can pull off another season as good as the first. Hercules, at Ain’t It Cool News, gives the season two premiere five stars, so I have high hopes.

Leave a Reply

