Rivers Cuomo Makes Believe

October 26, 2005

According to CNN, Rivers Cuomo, leader of the formerly interesting band Weezer, is heading back to Harvard to get his masters in English, has been practicing meditation, and has vowed himself to celibacy in order to improve his music.

"I decided to try celibacy because I heard it would help the
meditation, and I tried meditation because I heard it would help with
the music," he said. "So, it all really comes back to the music.

"Listen
to ‘Make Believe’ and compare it to the previous album, ‘Maladroit,’ "
he continued. "I know I can hear a difference in my singing. My voice
just sounds much more sensitive and dynamic now. I also notice a
difference in the lyrics. I’m much more open and communicative about my
emotions now."

Oh yes Rivers, with classic gems like "Beverly Hills" or "Perfect Situation" I can see you what you mean. I honestly doubt that Harvard will encourage these banalities.

"Where I come from isn’t all that great
My automobile is a piece of crap
My fashion sense is a little whack
And my friends are just as screwy as me"

"All I have to do is Swing, and I’m a hero, but I’m a zero."

Wow, incredible stuff Rivers. Hero and Zero? Never saw that coming. Seriously, what happened to Weezer? Didn’t they used to be a cutting edge band that had duel industry cred and widespread popularity? Maybe they never were a great band, maybe they weren’t even a good band, but they had to be better than this. What is so sad about this story is that Rivers seems to be relatively satisfied with the effort his band put forth as of late. If that means we are going to get more albums like "Make Believe," [please] Rivers, abandon your meditation, go to Brown and study Physics, do everything different always. Do yourself and us a favor.

JK

 

Leave a Reply

