My eyes! my eyes!

January 24, 2006

I just have to point out, for my own satisfaction, that I am currently experiencing a phenomenon that I have not seen for almost 40 days now. 

It’s called "light". 

I’m not sure from whence it comes – I can’t go outside, since my eyes have now evolved into fully dilated black orbs, and therefore cannot endure anything brighter than a 40-watt light bulb, but the more intrepid adventurers are describing the advent of some sort of Star that appears to be shining down on the residents of Earth with brilliant intensity.  I’ve also discovered that the house across from me is actually a color known as "white", rather than the dismal gray I believed it to be. 

You can stop laughing at me now.  Yes, I live in Seattle.  I chose to live here, and I love Seattle, and I will defend it to my dying breath as the most beautiful place in the world.

HOWEVER.  That joke about Seattleites not seeing the sun for months at a time?  It’s not really a joke, at least not this year.  It’s been particularly overcast this winter.  We almost beat our all-time record for number of rainy days in a row – and by almost, I mean that we were at 27 days straight before the rain stopped in favor of plain cloudiness for ONE day, and the next day it. continued. raining.   Ah, the irony.

Normally, I wouldn’t mind this lovely hydration, but I fear my Vitamin D levels are practically non-existent, and I cannot muster the energy to defy the need for sunlight this time around.  Not that I’m not trying, mind you.  It’s no surprise to me that the people who brought into necessity the phrase "It’s not a bug – it’s a feature" are headquartered about two miles from me.

~Jayne Doodles

One Response to “My eyes! my eyes!”

  1. TF6S Says:

    Jayne,

    I thought you drowned.

    Come back and write more, or with one phone call, I will make Seattle see 90 days of continuous raining cats.

    Ever shoveled snow before? If you think that’s bad, you haven’t shoveled cats…

    Cheers,
    Doug

Leave a Reply

