Alzheimers Research

March 28, 2006

This article in Scientific American caught my eye as I was browsing through my RSS feeds, as it discusses a drug that seems to reverse brain loss in mice with Alzheimers.  My grandfather and one of my great aunts died from a dementia disorder (either Alzheimers or something similar; I don’t think we did an autopsy to be absolutely positive), and another close family member has recently been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimers, which has been absolutely devastating.  Needless to say, any forward progress in halting or reversing Alzheimers is something to which I pay close attention.  The positive effects of this experimental drug sound like a big step forward in Alzheimers research.

2 Responses to “Alzheimers Research”

  1. skiesareblue Says:

    Fingers crossed!

  2. francesca101 Says:

    I’d be interested to know what this drug is. My father has dementia..which is seemingly more like Alzheimers disease. He is taking Aricept..which has seemed to slow it down a bit. It would be great to know something that would reverse it.
    There are several Natural Remedies that have been proven beneficial. You can check these out at francesca101@wordpress.com & let me know what you think. I’d like to know what the name of that drug as well.

Leave a Reply

