Film Speeches

February 27, 2007

The top ten as listed by Not Defteri (link via Pop Candy). Definitely has some good ones.

For my part, I would add any of Red’s (Morgan Freeman’s) voice-overs from The Shawshank Redemption. Particularly, these two (warning, spoilers if you haven’t seen it):

"I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing
about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Some things are better left
unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so
beautiful, it can’t be expressed in words, and it makes your heart ache
because of it. I tell you, those voices soared higher and farther than
anybody in a grey place dares to dream. It was as if some beautiful
bird had flapped into our drab little cage and made these walls
dissolve away, and for the briefest of moments, every last man in
Shawshank felt free."

"Sometimes it makes me sad, though, Andy being gone. I have to remind
myself that some birds aren’t meant to be caged. Their feathers are
just too bright and when they fly away, the part of you that knows it
was a sin to lock them up does rejoice, but still, the place you live
in is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone. I guess I just
miss my friend."

Leave a Reply

